Click to open menu items

Bhagavad Gita
The Gita is a book we can study our entire life, and it is so deep that it can take us a lifetime to understand. 

Karma and Reincarnation
The word karma comes from the Sanskrit verb root ‘kri’ which means ‘to do’.  Anything that we perform physically or mentally becomes a karma, an action.  The philosophy of karma says every action leaves an imprint.

Philosophy of Life
We need a personal philosophy of life to help us to make sense of the world and keep us heading in the right direction. We all have one, whether we have given it conscious thought or let it grow randomly through our experience.

Roots of Yoga
Yoga is a science that has been passed on orally for at least 5,000 years in India.  These truths are sacred because they were revealed to sages in deep meditation.

Royal Path/ 8 Rungs of Yoga
Asana or yoga poses is #3. Others include ethical guidelines like non-harming and truth, pranayama and meditation.

Satsanga: Company of the Saints
Sat means the truth, that which is pure, that which is light. Sanga means company.  Satsanga is the company of truth, of the saintly, of light, of your own practice, the company of your mantra.

Spiritual Paths
We can enjoy and live in the external world yet still structure our lives so they don’t create barriers to self-realization. Common paths are karma, bhakti, jnana, kundalini and raja yoga.

Three Gunas
The three gunas are the properties of rajas (active or agitated), tamas (stable or dull) and sattva (pure and light). All matter has all three gunas and we need all three gunas in proper balance.

The oldest and source scripture is called the Vedas. There are 4 and each is divided into two parts: work and knowledge. Sama, focuses on spiritual truth and is called – Upanishads.

What is Yoga?
Yoga is a 5,000 year old tradition of philosophy and practices passed down from teachers to students in an unbroken lineage. The Himalayan Tradition is a rich and complete source of knowledge and inspiration.

Yoga Sutras

There are many translations ranging from simple to very complex. The 4 padas or chapters are: Yoga and Its Aims, Yoga and Its Practice, Powers and Liberation.

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali
The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali are the major text of Raja yoga. Patanjali was a sage who codified yoga into 196 sutras or short sentences. Oral teaching by sages guided students in their understanding.


Contact: Lynn Fraser